Taking Photos at the Parks

Discussion in 'Disney Vacation Planning & Transportation' started by Sheila Gallant-Halloran, Nov 29, 2008.

1. Hey gang - for our last trip, we bought a new DLSR camera. ; Fantastic photos. ; I'm a newbie to photography, so bought a second lens to try and experiment with some photos of SpectroMagic and the fireworks. Not bad, but I can see how this is like going to school - it takes a lot of time and a lot of learning :) to figure out stuff and get it right.

Just wondering - do folks here snap a lot of photos? ; What kinda camera do you use?

2. realfam

realfam Member

We too just bought a DSLR about a week ago. ; There is alot to learn for us point and shooters. ; We have a Sony 300A with live view (DW loves its ease of use). ; So far we have just taken pics around the house, but plan to picture crazy in 2 weeks while were at WDW. ; I found there is alot of free lessons on Youtube that are great to watch for the beginner.

3. Ham Ham

Ham Ham Member

Here's a couple of tips.

Fill the frame with your subject. Don't waste a lot of space with too much sky or asphalt.

Look at the edges of the frame. Are you cutting some important info off or including something that will distract from your subjecy?

When taking picture of children, pets small subjects bring the camera down to their eye level.

Avoid placing peoples ; heads right in the middle of the frame. In you minds eye divide the frame into horizontals thirds and place the eyes of your subject on the top first third down from the top of the frame.
    If not mistaken some new SLR's come with a grid you can activate in the menu to help.

Don't be afraid to move the subject out of the middle of the frame.

Mix it up throw in some vertical photo's

Zoom with your feet. Get closer to your subject