I'll bet no one ever asks...

Discussion in 'Photography 101' started by rnratwdw, Sep 1, 2009.

1. rnratwdw

rnratwdw Member

...for advice on buying a new camera.

I have been using an Olympus Camedia C-900 for almost 10 years. ; It actually took pretty decent pictures for me all these years and I plan to keep using it. ; Before that I had a Pentax compact 35mm, that still takes great pictures. ; But I think I'm ready for a D-SLR now and want to make that transition.

Some of the first advice I've received so far (that I never thought of) is to go to the store and see how the cameras fit in the hand first...which I will start doing.

I'd like to start with a good entry-level camera to make the transition with. ; I do take a wide variety of pictures, from WDW to family events, to church events, indoors, outdoors, everywhere, so it needs to be a good multi-purpose camera. ; I mostly post everything in online photo albums, but there's always a few pics that I want to make prints of.

So, any suggestions on a camera brand/model and best places to find a good deal?

Thanks in advance.

2. Tim

Tim Administrator Staff Member

As far as entry level goes, I cannot help but be impressed by Canon's Rebel T1i (I am a Canon guy).
    CLICK HERE FOR B&H REBEL T1I KITS

You will get a variety of responses, I am sure, good luck with your upgrade.

The only thing I shamelessly ask is that if you decide to order a new camera, you please go to B&H thru one of the links or banners on this site as it really helps the cause. ;

3. Scottwdw

Scottwdw Member

I envy you and am sorry for you, too. ; This is a great time to upgrade to a digital SLR camera. ; However, it's also a very confusing time as there are so many good cameras on the market. ;

The advice about going to a store and putting the cameras in your hand is a very good one. ; Try them with both a short and long lens as the balance changes with the length and weight of lenses.