Curling Photography

Discussion in 'Photography 101' started by Stryker412, Mar 2, 2014.

1. Stryker412

Stryker412 Member

I'm attending the nationals this week outside of Philly. Can anyone give suggestions for manual settings on my Canon T3 with a 70-300mm lens? I've gotten a few good shots but almost all are over exposed and I have to lower the contrast using software. I mainly use auto settings. I'm still learning the ropes but am always afraid if I shoot all day on manual that when I get home all my shots are blurry or worse. I also hate to miss good shots because I have to fiddle with settings. Is there a good setting I could use all day? Here is what I have after the first day.

https://plus.google.com/photos/10484789 ... 5099655505

2. ddindy

ddindy Member Staff Member

Wow, I'm jealous! ; I watched the Canadian curling championships 25 years ago when I was working in Seattle. ; I've been a fan of the sport ever since.

I suspect that all of that white ice is fooling your meter. ; I suggest setting the exposure compensation to some negative number. ; Take several test shots before the event and adjust it accordingly. ; Search the web for tips on shooting snow scenes; shooting on ice is a similar situation.

Worried about blurry shots in manual? ; Set your shutter speed first, and adjust the aperture and/or ISO as needed. ; Practice your panning technique with slow shutter speeds, too; I think that could result in some cool shots.