One day trip to Epcot. Looking for a little advice.

Discussion in 'Trip Reports & Member Reviews' started by kirigi, Feb 16, 2010.

1. kirigi

kirigi Member

Hi all. Newbie here!
    My wife is a regular on the DISBoards and I found you through a link on one of their photo pages. Seems like a great place for me to spend some time each day.

We're going to Epcot for one day at the end of March, and I wanted to know what suggestions you might have so that I can get the most out of it, photographically speaking. We're going during the flower and garden festival, and I'm hoping to come away with more than snapshots. Just prior to our visit, I'll be attending Photoshop World. It's a three day conference on all things photo, and I can guarantee my photo juju will be flowing.

Got a question or two: First off, what restrictions can I realistically expext regarding tripod use? I've heard that it needs to be a small tripod and that as long as it's not a nuissance to other guests I'll be OK. Well, my tripod isn't 'small', but it's not huge either. It's a carbon fiber Slik with two section legs and a Gitzo pistol grip head. When being carried it stands about 33".

I'm mainly looking to shoot HDR and Infrared photos, as well as some night shots and the fireworks. Any suggestions on locations or a route to take? I figure with the garden festival in full "bloom" infrared might be pretty interesting.

Thanks in advance.

2. Roger

Roger Member Staff Member

Welcome to the forums!

For tripod use during the day I'd try and stick to being next to railings; this will be easier in Future World. ; My experience has been that the majority of guests aren't going to be looking for a tripod when they are walking/riding a scooter, so it'll be bumped...odds are more in your favor to the sides of a walkway where you can perhaps put one or more legs outside of the normal walkway area.... ; ;)