Advice Needed: Aperture 3 and RAW + JPEG

Discussion in 'The Digital Darkroom' started by Grumpwurst, Aug 28, 2010.

1. Grumpwurst

Grumpwurst Member Staff Member

I decided to start a new topic for this discussion.

I am one of those weird people who shoot NEF + JPEG and I've been doing a lot of reading on the Aperture support forum on Apple's site and it seems like a lot of people feel that it's a waste of valuable CF storage space because of the ease of getting JPEGs out of the RAW images in A3.

First, is that true?

Second, my biggest problem is that my wife likes to scrapbook and wants easy access to JPEGs and that was one of the main reasons I started shooting that way (that and I wanted quick access to JPEGs for my now stagnate blog because of my lack of a software file organization system). ; Is Aperture easy to teach someone how to export out a JPEG.

I did think of this idea and wonder if it's a good solution:
    • Go back to straight RAW shooting
    • Import files into Aperture
    • Create a smart album called "For Scrapbook" or create a Smart Album for each scrapbook project
    • Have Nancy navigate the photo browser and put in the keyword that drives the Smart Album(s) for each picture she wants to ultimate export out to JPEG for printing
    • Export out the contents of the Smart Album to JPEG onto a CF of SD card for a trip to Wal-Mart for printing or her Canon photo printer
    • Once exported delete the Keyword from those pics

Yes, this adds the extra step of needing to tag the photos and it assumes that it is easy to add the keywords and easy to batch remove a keyword. But, it was also a lot of work to sift through the Windows folders using Thumbnail View to find the pictures, open them up to see if they are as good as the thumbnail seemed to indicate, and then copy them to a folder that could then be copied to the media for printing.