Group Photo

Discussion in 'Photography 101' started by haunteddoc, Mar 20, 2010.

1. haunteddoc

haunteddoc Member

So, I have been taking pics of my sons marching band and indoor percussion group for the last 5 years. ; Tonight, for the first time, the director ask me to take a group photo of the indoor percussion group. ; (They missed their chance with the pro photographer at each contest!!) Of course I said yes, being all excited and stuff that they would actually ask me. ; Then it hit me (bang!!), I have never done anything like this before.

I need help!! ; Photography not mental! How do I light a group of around 15-20 kids? (number depends on when grades come out. ; Lost around 3 for poor grades and one for throwing Bagels at the customers in the Wal Mart when we stopped to eat on the way home! ; Actually had some good arc as he threw them over several aisles!) (thank God it is not the marching band which has around 100 kids)? ;

I have two speed lights, wireless trigger, and one shoot through umbrella on a 7 ft stand. ; Probably need to buy at lease one more umbrella and stand???? ; Background will probably be a beige block wall.

Still excited about the opportunity but want to make sure I do a good job. ; Who knows, if things go well, when Obama Care starts I can retire from medicine, I may have found a source of retirement income?!?!? (sorry for the politics)

Any suggestions would be great. ; Really!!

After thought. ; Is this an opportunity to tell my wife I need all new lighting equipment? ; On second thought probably not since she just got me the canon 70-200 f2.8L IS USM for my Birthday, Valentines Day, Fathers Day... you get the picture.

2. haunteddoc

haunteddoc Member

Oh my. ; No responses. ; Has anyone done something like this? ; Any wedding photographers out there? ; I am sure you would have taken group shots. ; Help!!!

3. Roger

Roger Member Staff Member