Lens Choice Help

Discussion in 'Photography 101' started by Unibits, Mar 31, 2011.

1. Unibits

Unibits Member

Hey everyone,

I am a novice shutterbug and I need some help. ; I have a Sony A350 camera and a few different lenses that I use. ; I have a 18-200mm 3.5-6.4, 17-35mm 2.8-4, 70-200mm 2.8 and the box 18-70mm 3.5-5.6. ; I am trying to choose a lens that is in the 17-70 or 17-50 category that is a fast lens. ; I use the 70-200 and the 18-200 most of the time. ; The 17-35 is great for fireworks in the MK and is usually my goto lens for that.

I have tried many times to take shots in lower light areas and have failed miserably. ; I would like to get a faster lens for low light stuff. ; If you all could help, I would like some opinions on what is available for my A350. ; I am not a pro and for the most part this camera does everything that I need. ; We bought it in advance of the birth of our daughter and for that it has never let us down.

I am wondering what you all think of any of these as a choice of my next lens. ;

1. ; 105mm
    2. ; ; 50mm
    3. ; ; 30mm
    4. 17 - 70mm (sigma) ; 2.8 - 3.5 ;
    5. ; 17 - 50 (Tamron) fixed 2.8

For versatility I am considering the 17-70 lens from sigma but I would like to know your opinions. ; As a rule I dont do portraits or anything like that. ; I want something that has more than 1 use and could be used as a walk around lens if I choose to.

Opinions?

2. Roger

Roger Member Staff Member

Hi Unibits, not sure if I welcomed you a while back, so welcome!

You have an excellent mix of lenses, and I'm not sure why you would want to have a second lens that covers the 17-24mm range, since you already have an excellent lens that covers it.

For low light stuff I would start with either the Sony 35/1.8 or an old Minolta 50/1.7.

BUT

for a new walkaround zoom lens, if money is no object....